We presented two shows in 2019: the amplified Din III at Arraymusic, and the mallet-twirling Din IV at The Music Gallery.

Din of Shadows III

Our third event took place on the evening of Friday March 8th, 2019, in the form of two back-to-back shows at Arraymusic in Toronto. It featured adventurous new works by Andrew Noseworthy, Cheldon Paterson, and Quinn Jacobs that extended the well-landscaped field of music theatre into the raw jungles of rock, metal, and hip-hop.
Din has never had three composers on the programme before - we were able to showcase a wide range of creative voices on these shows, performed by our core septet of sax, trumpet, electric guitar, electric bass, drumset, turntable, and dancer.
Cheldon's piece Visual EQ'd took us into the mind of the composer/turntablist, exploring the creative process from the inside out. Quinn's pieces Invisible Evil and Ancient Rhymes Unwinding both made use of elements unseen by the audience - 4/5 of the performers in the former piece, and a set of 7 imaginary percussion instruments in the latter.  The shows closed with Andrew's Now Lost Text, a distorted reflection on the journeys of individual works of art through time, with text by Bekah Simms.


1. Visual EQ'd (2019) - Cheldon Paterson
2. Invisible Evil (2019) - Quinn Jacobs
3. Ancient Rhymes Unwinding (2018) - Quinn Jacobs
4. Now Lost Text (2019) - by Andrew Noseworthy, text by Bekah Simms


Émilie Fortin - Trumpet
Quinn Jacobs - Art. Dir./ Composer/ E. Bass
Libydo - Dancer
Andrew Noseworthy - Composer/ E. Guitar
Cheldon Paterson - Composer/ Turntable
Olivia Shortt - Saxophones
Jonny Smith - Percussion
Erinn Acland - Poster & Sticker Artist
Angela Blumberg - Stage Hand
Cait Caulfield - Photographer
Renée Lear - Lighting Tech
John Maize - Stage Manager/ FOH
Kelley Mitchell - Videographer
Bekah Simms - Author (text in Now Lost Text)
Kristen Smith - Chocolate Truffle Artist


Din of Shadows x Emergents Series

Our fourth event was presented by the Music Gallery's Emergents series on May 3rd 2019 at 918 Bathurst in Toronto. The show featured new multidisciplinary creations by Angela Blumberg, Quinn Jacobs, Domenic Jarlkaganova, Ming-Bo Lam, and Julia Mermelstein, written for dance, percussion (including two marimbas), violin, and electronics. The four new works on the programme were presented alongside reimagined classics Glass Houses (1981) and Rivers (1979) by Ann Southam and Living Room Music (1940) by John Cage.
Following in the tradition of past Emergents Series shows, this event was a double bill. Toronto-based visual arts collective SPAMCARTS (Alesha Aquino, Amy Jefferys, and Jennifer Ramses) accompanied Din, exhibiting their work in the art gallery adjacent to the performance space at 918 Bathurst throughout the evening.
Overall, the event was a resounding success, with over 100 guests in attendance and more than enough captivating art to go around!


1. Selections from Glass Houses (1981) and Rivers (1979) - by Ann Southam, choreographed by Ming-Bo Lam in collaboration with Serena Finlayson and Brianna Salmon
2. Last Song (2019) - by Angela Blumberg, music by Domenic Jarlkaganova
3. Outside Inside (2019) - Quinn Jacobs
4. Living Room Music (1940) - John Cage
5. out of grains, within clouds (2019) - by Julia Mermelstein, choreographed by Angela Blumberg


Angela Blumberg - Choreographer/ Dancer
Serena Finlayson - Choreographer/ Dancer
Greg Harrison - Percussion
Quinn Jacobs - Art.Dir./ Composer/ Actor
Domenic Jarlkaganova - Composer
Ming-Bo Lam - Choreographer/ Dancer
Matthias McIntire - Violin
Julia Mermelstein - Composer
Louis Pino - Percussion
Brianna Salmon - Choreographer/ Dancer
Jonny Smith - Percussion
Alesha Aquino - Visual Artist
Sara Constant - Emergents Series Curator
David Dacks - Music Gallery Artistic Director
Claire Harvie - Photographer
Amy Jefferys - Visual Artist
Justin Moy - Videographer
Jennifer Ramses - Visual Artist


Many thanks to The Music Gallery, Roger D. Moore, and The Underground Dance Centre for their generous support of this event!