Our third event took place on the evening of Friday March 8th, 2019, in the form of two back-to-back shows at Arraymusic in Toronto. It featured adventurous new works by Andrew Noseworthy, Cheldon Paterson, and Quinn Jacobs that extended the well-landscaped field of music theatre into the raw jungles of rock, metal, and hip-hop.
Din has never had three composers on the programme before - we were able to showcase a wide range of creative voices on these shows, performed by our core septet of sax, trumpet, electric guitar, electric bass, drumset, turntable, and dancer.
Cheldon's piece Visual EQ'd took us into the mind of the composer/turntablist, exploring the creative process from the inside out. Quinn's pieces Invisible Evil and Ancient Rhymes Unwinding both made use of elements unseen by the audience - 4/5 of the performers in the former piece, and a set of 7 imaginary percussion instruments in the latter.  The shows closed with Andrew's Now Lost Text, a distorted reflection on the journeys of individual works of art through time, with text by Bekah Simms.
1. Visual EQ'd (2019) - Cheldon Paterson
2. Invisible Evil (2019) - Quinn Jacobs
3. Ancient Rhymes Unwinding (2018) - Quinn Jacobs
4. Now Lost Text (2019) - by Andrew Noseworthy, text by Bekah Simms
Émilie Fortin - Trumpet
Quinn Jacobs - Art. Dir./ Composer/ E. Bass
Libydo - Dancer
Andrew Noseworthy - Composer/ E. Guitar
Cheldon Paterson - Composer/ Turntable
Olivia Shortt - Saxophones
Jonny Smith - Percussion
Erinn Acland - Poster & Sticker Artist
Angela Blumberg - Stage Hand
Cait Caulfield - Photographer
Renée Lear - Lighting Tech
John Maize - Stage Manager/ FOH
Kelley Mitchell - Videographer
Bekah Simms - Author (text in Now Lost Text)
Kristen Smith - Chocolate Truffle Artist